The V List

Last night Lost was a repeat, so I was able to finally watch Glee live. I thought I would write about it, but instead my motivation is to list out how I feel about V, a show that has quite the ability to kick ass but is losing momentum quickly and making poor character decisions.  I do not want to see it go down the same road as Heroes did, especially since this is it’s first season.

Good

Trying to keep a positive spin on everything, I will start off with characters that for right now, I am enjoying. I may not have enjoyed them always or may dislike them as soon as next week.  But I can see the development for the character/story can really be revved up, provided the show sees it my way, of course.

Ryan/Pregnancy: If you had asked me two weeks ago, heck maybe even last week, I would have told you I had no interest in this storyline.  While the show has certainly allowed us to really know Ryan, his girlfriend Val is another matter.  With a very short moment in meeting Tyler as his therapist (something he needs very much), she’s been segmented off on her own, any interaction with Ryan or maybe Georgie.  No family, little job performance and a pregnancy that has a big secret that she is not aware of. I was really only paying attention to see if carrying a giant lizard in your belly would allow her to finally step over the line and eat a raw mouse.

But this week she finally knows the truth.  And is rightfully pissed.  I think we were supposed to feel sorry for Ryan last night, risking his life to keep her (and Kermit) alive.  But as a woman myself,  keeping what was going on with her body a secret from her was really wrong on so many levels.  It’s her body, it’s her life, and she had every right to understand what carrying his child really meant.  That said, for the first time I am interested in seeing them try to overcome this and be a couple again, if only because of the challenges that it all supports.

However, what worries me is she is once again, sent away from not just Ryan but everyone. Will we even see her?  I know it’s dangerous but I’d have rather she be in hiding IN TOWN, and Val coming into contact with Erica, Father Jack and even Kyle.   I have no idea if it’s possible to fall back in love with a man after he kept the secret he’s not really a man from you, but it would make an interesting story.

Father Jack: I love Father Jack.  He’s sweet, super cute, great smile, and has empathy for everyone.  As a Christian myself, I get nervous when characters dedicated to religion are introduced into the cast, as Hollywood always seems to do a poor job in understanding their motivations.  So far, I really like Father Jack.  I don’t think I ship him with Erica, I like the friendship and at this time would prefer it to stay that way.

Joshua: I also adore Joshua and am dying to know his backstory.  How did he “turn” yet remain in Ana’s good graces?  It’s fascinating to me and what I loved from the week before is while he seemed to decide to spare Lisa’s life with her mother because she could help them in the future, I really think it came more down to the fact he has the human emotion and since he’s known her as a baby, he doesn’t want to rid the world of a “V” who might possess the ability to love.

Erica:  Yes, I still like her, though she seems to have worn on many out there in cyberspace’s nerves.   She’s a terrible mother but we’ve only seen her mothering skills after her husband spontaneously left her.  Also, I’m very interested in understanding why it seemed Tyler’s dad (do we know his name?) did not appear to be Tyler’s dad.  Does this have to do with the V’s arrival?  Erica is sincere in maintaining the results where wrong and if she is lying, you have to ask yourself, why would a FBI agent whose ability to put criminals behind bars on the same type of tests now think she can convince her family to ignore such things?

Horrible horrible horrible needs to go immediately or major rewrite

Tyler: OMG, how can I make it clear that this character is THE WORST PERSON ON THE SHOW.  I could blame the actor, I do in some ways, but honestly, the writers and director chose to have him act like a whiny, selfish, bratty, naive, self-centered emo.  What is even more frustrating, is why does Ana give a wit about this child?  What about him is so damn important that it takes pimping her daughter out to get him “to their side”?  On the flip side, how can Lisa lose her emotional “V” with this guy who has all the charm and personality of maybe Screech from Saved by the Bell.  Ok, he’s prettier than Screech but he’s just as annoying, but without the nerdy brains.  The only reason I don’t want him to die is because it may send Erica down a path I don’t need her to go down right now.

Growing their numbers: Last night’s episode in particular, I was really disappointed they didn’t try to use the human assassin more in convincing him the truth about the Vs. I realize they don’t have any direct proof, at least when Ryan isn’t there.  But surely they realize that they will eventually exhaust their remaining list of 5th Column (they drop like flies every time they find one) and will have to begin recruiting new people. By that time, it’s very possible the Vs will have infiltrated so many of the hearts and minds of the general public into believing they are ANGELS, can’t they see it’s going to be problematic to force people to see the truth?  Why not attempt to see how this guy reacts when he does sees the lizard skin or discover they have been living among everyone for YEARS?

Soldier: That was pretty disappointing.  Couldn’t they find a more physical type to play THE V SOLDIER?

Annoyances

Ana-Though I don’t hate her, but I find I have to roll my eyes at how omniscient she is.  While she is incapable of emotion which I’m sure will be her ultimate downfall, she has no apparent disadvantages.  She spots opportunities for the Vs to be saviors, she always knows the course of action. She is so logical in everything.  The only episode of her I liked was the one where she was suffering from the pregnancy because FINALLY she had a real weakness.  We need more of those.

Chad-I can’t make up my mind about Chad.  I do not want him to be a simple puppet for Ana at all so I’m hoping he’s going to wind up turning on her.  But last night’s episode really just made him look wishy washy as he went back to Father Jack and Ana.  Is he playing Ana? Or is he on her side?  Just PICK ONE!

2 thoughts on “The V List

  1. I think Chad is out for number one and right now he sees Ana as the way to get that. I think he quite possibly could turn on her down the road but right now he’s a threat to the good guys instead of a help. I don’t like him using Father Jack either.

    I agree on most everything, tho Ana isn’t annoying to me. I think she’s pretty fascinating, completely amoral. Sure I want her to have weaknesses but I don’t think it’s necessary for us to know them yet. If that makes any sense.

    See, I do think they need to grow the cast some. It’s not believable that only 4 of them can take down the group. They need to hook up with someone important on earth, beyond Joshua (who I also like very much).

  2. I don’t think she’s annoying (Ana), but I am tired of her being basically flawless, with the exception she has no human emotion, which of course she doesn’t see as a weakness.

Leave a Reply

