Goodbye Law & Order

The news is out. L&O is canceled. My heart is broken.  Not just because my Connie/Cutter obsession will never be truly resolved, but because something that has always been faithful to viewers for 20 years is not going to get a chance to say one last “ripped from the headlines” episode.  This news came too late as the season finale has already done.  To think of what could have been the last great episode, (I foresee certain network executives being killed over canceling a long running series that will actually hurt a city’s economy), with probably Sam Waterson turning the lights off of his office alone, and walking to the door, holding either his fedora or motorcycle helmet.

Twenty years is probably never going be achieved again by another show. And with all the stories and cast that have come and gone on this show, why not give it a true send off that is properly promoted this time, and not buried in a SVU episode?

Finally, your opinion on it being formulaic, actually the show had been playing with that. It had opened up to character driven plots and changed the format in a few episodes. I feel it’s been the strongest quality wise in years, and its a shame the current cast and crew who made it such can’t get the respect of having a real goodbye for the show they put so much effort into.

In a way L&O had always come through for NBC, even when it suffered in writing and casting, because it was always used as the show to plug a hole in the line up. With the snafu that NBC had on the Leno nonsense, I’m shocked they getting rid of their #1 substitute when they really have nothing to replace it. Idiots.

Finally, maybe NBC doesn’t deserve all the blame. Dick Wolf probably spent too much time negotiating instead of realizing the writing on the wall for his show, focusing too much on “the record” versus giving the show a proper goodbye. It just breaks my heart we won’t get a chance to say really goodbye to my favorite cast who renewed my love for this show in the last few years.

6 thoughts on “Goodbye Law & Order

  1. I’m still reeling from the news. And the fact that they won’t actually have a series finale is incredible! I’ve often told my mom that when either Jack left or the show ended, I suspected he and Danielle Melnick (Tovah Feldshuh) would get together. Or perhaps we’d find out that they had been in a relationship all along and keeping it hush hush because of their jobs. The chemistry between them was palpable…even when they argued, you could tell there was something there.

  2. So, so sad that L&O has been canceled. Like someone else said in one of the multitude of sites I’ve been trolling, it’s like being told your best friend died and there won’t be a funeral. I also just recently read somewhere that LOCI has also been canceled. Sad day for the franchise.

  3. CI has been cancelled? That is sad. They could haev let it end with using Goran and Alex’s exit.

    Faye, I could almost see them try to bring back Jill Hennessey for a season finale, since at one time they were very close to bringing her character back (I have learned).

  4. I read about this and was hoping it was just a mistake, or a negotiations tactic. I don’t think anyone has ever claimed the network bosses were geniuses, but this has to mean they don’t have a brain put together. Either that or they think that 20 years worth of episodes on repeat is enough to keep them going. Wrong.

    I guess you’ll just have to write the ending you would have liked to see then.

  5. I wondered when you would see it Rameau. I’m sorry to get you into a ship that was apparently doomed thanks to management ineptitude. Hopefully will have at least one more moment with Mike/Connie in the last 3 episodes remaining.

Leave a Reply

