Are they MAKING us hate Kate?

Ok, the following is a Lost spoiler.  Please do not read further if you do not want to be spoiled…

 “Catch-22” – Desmond coaxes Charlie, Hurley and Jin on a trek across the jungle after experiencing one of his future-prophesizing “flashes” — but is he purposely placing Charlie’s life in harm’s way? Meanwhile, Kate turns to an unwitting Sawyer after seeing Jack alone with Juliet, on “Lost,”
WEDNESDAY, APRIL 18 (10:00-11:00 p.m., ET), on the ABC Television Network.

Sigh, I want to like Kate.  I do.  The problem with triangles is the wishy washiness of the character going back and forth.  I believe Kate doesn’t know what she wants but this description makes it sound like Kate is using Sawyer because she wants Jack but can’t have him. That’s even worse than being torn IMO.

Again, I am not saying I would be happy with a Jate pairing but I could have lived with it if the writers had chosen to make the choice permanent and final. Do they realize how badly Kate is going to look if I’m reading this correctly?

9 thoughts on “Are they MAKING us hate Kate?

  1. I don’t like triangles either. I can’t think of a single one I really liked, except when a woman met someone better and decided to dump first guy. And the sooner the better.
    The problem here is that you (and I) are a woman. The (two) writers are older guys. Probably Jack and Sawyer represent them. This is their fantasy. Kate isn’t being wishy-washy. She’s just torn between two hot men. Bleh.

  2. Oh, I didn’t know you watched Densie.

    Yea, I can see it written as their fantasy, especially given that both Kate and Juliet are handcuffed together next week and get into what looks like a mud wrestling match over “Jack”.

    I honestly think the writers are playing both sides. All spoilers for the first arc of this season were that Kate makes her “final choice” and its done. They show made it quite clear Kate was all about Sawyer, even with Benry’s “Interesting you would say Sawyer’s name first” nonsense. Now it’s like they want to play to make the other shippers happy. I hate that. Make a choice and own it. Don’t rape the characters integrity to try to feed both sides.

  3. I totally agree on this – I thought (or rather hoped & prayed) the triangle was dead and buried once Kate and Sawyer did the deed in the cage. I’m perfectly happy for Sawyer to be Kate’s choice – the two of them could happy strike sparks off each other for the next 20 years! They’re both so prickly and HOT and just perfect together IMO.

    I’m very intrigued by the relationship between Juliet and Jack…they both have medical backgrounds, obvious relationship issues, not to mention serious hero/God complexes. I want to see more interaction between them for sure, the chemistry there is different and very interesting.

    I didn’t think the Paolo and Nikki ep was a throwaway show – I loved how they went back and tied in original scenes with their characters (except for Maggie’s horrible wig, OMG). Plus it explained that random “toilet” comment Paolo made in an earlier ep, LOL! I think it was very cool and very creepy the way the show ended with them being buried alive (one of my greatest fears) and the spiders didn’t bother me as much as it would have been if there’d been cockroaches. Ugh – makes me shiver just thinking about it.

    Anyhoo, I thought it was a pretty clever premise – and I definitely think the island took care of them once and for all. Plus, it showed us Ben’s true colors too, not that we didn’t know what they were anyway, but still, anytime Benry is onscreen I’m happily creeped out.

  4. Yea, I like Benry too and the toilet scene with Juliet and Benry was my favorite of that episode. But I guess I just felt that the two characters wound up being used for flashbacks rather than answers to questions for the future. It just seems that the show is so careful about integrating random characters histories and pasts into the mysteries of the island, the fact they wound up the way they did was just a neat end to a sloppy storyline.

    Though the buried alive was freaky but not as freaky as spiders. HATE spiders.

    I love Juliet and Jack and think both women deserve better than beating each other up in the jungle over Jack. Which, why didn’t Jack at least ask Benry if he could take Kate along with him in the sub? The answer might still have been no but at least he tried asking.

  5. You know, you’re right! I didn’t even think of that! Why all the “I’m coming back for you” stuff – I guess he just assumed Benry wouldn’t let Kate go too, but the gentlemanly thing to have done was ask the question, no doubt.

    And who was going to drive the sub, anyway? Is it “drive” a sub, sail a boat?

    The random thoughts that occur as I should be cooking supper!

  6. well tripp..you know i love me some juliet and jack…..and i personally want to see them explore that more….there is sooooo much chemistry there b/n them…that being said though..i was a JATE fan till then…but i am also biased…LOVE elizabeth mitchell(juliet)

  7. Lorrie, I immediatlly wondered why Kate didn’t say, “Take me too!” or for that matter Jack at least obligated to tell her that he would see if he coudl take her and Sayid. The sub looked big enough to carry more than just Jack and Juliet. As for the driver, I thought there was a no name other with them who I presumed would drive.

    Snowflakecoat welcome. I never was much of a Jate fan but I tuned into Lost in S2. What’s funny is I watched the Jack/Kate scenes and didn’t really think much between them. I didn’t see that much chemistry. However, I floved Sawyer and wondered w/o even knowing if him and Kate would be hotter. I flove Juliet too. She’s an awesome addition to the show IMO.

  8. Of course I watch Lost! If there is a Steve-like character to be found on television I will generally watch him.

    I have been voting for Kate and Sawyer from the first. Jack’s great too, and they could have gone that way. But Jack and Kate seem more like siblings or co-vice-presidents. They have great chemistry for that. It doesn’t seem to me that they are trying to please shippers of any kind, they’re pleasing their own fantasies. That opinion comes from watching interviews, though, so who knows what they are really thinking.

    I really like Jack with Juliet and am hoping they will continue with it. But mostly I’ve just given up expecting anything logical, sensible etc out of this show and just watch for the interesting scenarios, dialog, acting and fun of it. No expectations.

  9. Heh Densie, speaking of Steve like characters, I was watching the S/K clip where Steve has saved Kayla from Orpheus and he’s in that cute striped bathrobe. There is one moment where the camera lingers on him and his hair is in his face and I was like “OMG, he does look like Sawyer!” I noticed that today.

    I haven’t given up thinking logically with the show yet. Well not altogether anyway.

Leave a Reply

