Yet another reason to love Chick

This week on Days has been kind of slow, considering the full speed plot train that was last week, but as usual we can trust the couple of Chelsea and Nick for moving their storyline forward.  First, let me thank Hogan Sheffer for allowing Nick and Chelsea to leave the church scene and go home happy and content before he decided to push their buttons again.  I love me some early on angst in any couple but sometimes it’s nice to let a “date scenario” end happily and go home with smiles and kisses before Nick screws up again it gets all turned upside down.

In what will be no doubt her mini arc of “very special episode” Chelsea has a talk with her step mom Hope about losing her virginity.  When asked why she couldn’t speak to her own mother about this very delicate subject, I’m surprised that Chelsea didn’t remind Hope her mom would have wondered what was taking her so long in getting rid of the dreaded V label.  She is Billie after all.  Naturally Hope, through a lot of around the bush talk, finally gets to the heart of the matter asking if she loves Nick.  Chelsea thinks about it and though the younger woman (who is already 20 now!)  comes by her realization that she loved Nick more out of the “OMG, I like him because he’s a nerd, so it must be love” it still was a nice moment and downright sweet.

Then we get another Chelsea is hurt by Nick’s bad reaction to a difficult situation (given he had hooker Willow stashed under his bed and didn’t want Chelsea to get the wrong idea about the two of them), they argue and have another talk about him moving out.  Why?  Because, Chelsea wants to sleep with him and so let’s get a booty pad for them to do it at!

I am loving it for some reason!  Chelsea is the guy in this relationship and Nick is the girl!  “I just want to hold you all night,” he says which melts even her horny heart and we get a second “I love you” from her.  (Note: Hogan, when a character says this to another character for the first time…it should be a moment to stop and reflect on, not skip past as fast as you can.)  Then they make out. 😀

So ladies and gentleman, add to my growing list of why I love the Chelsea/Nick romance is the roles are reversed making them more an original pair than we have seen on this show in years.  Please, please, keep it coming!!!

5 thoughts on “Yet another reason to love Chick

  1. Me too! During this horridly, overly busy week, almost the only thing I had time to watch was Chelsea/Nick. I FF everything else until the Friday episode

  2. Tripp, just had to say I have been loving Chick this week as well. Those Nick-in-boxers scenes were too adorable. I love bumbling, nervous, afraid of being caught Nick because BB plays it so well. (I am mad about the whole “Nick has a secret” thing again, but I’m trying to get over it.)

  3. I think the show can afford to have a madcap romantic pairing, one with some darker dramatic layers but for the most part played as romantic comedy. I can see Nick and Chelsea filling that role because they’re both screwball characters in a lot of ways.

    I do wish they’d slow it down a bit, but the show apparently has only two speeds–glacial and balls out.

  4. Mary, I’m not really pleased it’s Nick keeping a secret again too. I really thought with Chelsea being the bad girl she’d be the one making the mistakes (I guess she is in a way). To be honest, I have to say I really expected her making out with Max on that video surveillance in Bo/Hope’s house would have somehow gotten to Nick for some reason so he could be angry. I guess it still could.

    Paula, I agree about madcap romantic pairing. Not just comedy though as I do think they can be sexy as well. If I had had my way, I would have stretched out everything since their return from Toronto. At this point, she probably still woudn’t know about him sleeping with Billie.

Leave a Reply

