My New Year’s Resolutions (for the spring TV season)

So it’s that time of year. I chose to make a list of what I plan to do for my TV viewing pleasure.  Whether I keep to it, well, that’s another story.

To not allow myself to get disappointed by ships-Of course Days of Our Lives is the biggest tormentor for me, but I must say Heroes, Lost and certainly CSI have done their share of breaking my heart on couples I really liked or even loved.  (Seriously, was it really necessary for Sylar to set Ellie on fire?  Really?) This year, it’s gonna be different!

To try to keep my expectations low-Seriously how hard was it to watch Heroes when I compare it to the first season?  I need to stop imaging how the storylines should play out and go in with a indifferent mind, just expecting to be entertained.  I mean, so I’ve been waiting for Maya to die for almost 2 years now, but I shouldn’t allow myself to get my hopes up.

To not bitch about commercials-Since my Tivo is not HD, I have to watch the shows live which I have really gotten out of the habit.  I must remember that commercials are not evil devices invented by corporations to manipulate my mind into doing whatever they say, they simply are a means to pay for the TV show.  And looking on the bright side, I am more aware to what new movies are coming out.

Keep up with recaps on TWoP-It’s funny, when I was employed by a company, I usually always had time to keep track of all the recaps of my favorite shows.  But now that I’m self-employed and working from home, the temptation to read isn’t as great.

To be better in my TV blogging-now that my writing on Days will be cut back significantly, I’m going to have to really roll up my sleeves and devote more time to other shows.  Of course, it’s quite possible that if a certain actor winds up on another soap, I could wind up jumping ship. Now, won’t that be weird?

5 thoughts on “My New Year’s Resolutions (for the spring TV season)

  1. Sounds like a plan to me. That’s why I don’t think too hard about where things could go and just enjoy what’s on my screen. Much less disappointment. As to your shipping…have you read yet??? HMMMM???

  2. Too true! Before the torching, I spent a week hoping that Sylar might have backed off on Elle. After all, who actually dies on Heroes? Apparently, only people I like.

  3. Ha, quite true, RileyKay. Keep the ones we hate (LIKE MAYA) alive but take away the ones we actually like. Poor Selle. Poor Selle baby no longer. Poor me for loving Selle.

  4. Tripp, don’t stop watching.

    Melanie is the best part of the show along with Stephanie. You say you like Stephanie.

    The only reason i am watching is for Melanie, Stephanie and Nicole.

    -Terry

  5. Pingback: New Year’s Blog Resolutions « The Three S’s: Sports, Shows & Sarcasm

Leave a Reply

