In My Mind…

I know it’s been a long time since I’ve written anything, much less a blog on soaps.  This isn’t exactly a Days post since I’ve pretty much quit watching the show, but upon the news that Darin Brooks is leaving so closely behind Rachel Melvin, of course now the show is going to dare to give the most unnecessary couple in Salem a “happy ending” where departing veteran couples didn’t qualify.  Today, I’ve decided to just go ahead and attempt to write what I’ve been meaning to write, my history with past couples that were given ungraceful and usually damaging endings to their story.  I’ve watched soap operas on and off for twenty years, and when it comes to remembering couples that didn’t get their happy ending (much like Nick and Chelsea), I can think of three:

Joey/Kelly OLTL (Nathan Fillion/Gina Tognoni)

I started with them because, overall, I hold the least bitterness for their outcome.  kellyjoeylWhat is tough about them, honestly, is no clips of media or caps exists to document their history. This is possibly due to the fact Joey/Kelly never overcame the earlier relationship Joey had with Dorian (Kelly’s aunt).  I want to make it clear, I was never EVER a Joey/Dorian fan and while now that I’m older and can appreciate older women/younger men pairings, I still think Robin Strasser looks outrageously older than Joey and the jokes of Grandma sex we had for Chan could almost come into reality here.  I’m also upset that while I can find numerous pictures of Nathan out there, I was quite limited to find anything of this particular couple except for the attached.  I suppose it means no extremist fans exist that saved their tapes since the late 90s and would digitize them for us and place them online and thus I’ll have to learn to live my life not being able to download clips of Joey/Kelly.  I shall persevere but if anyone would like to direct me to an archive, I would appreciate it.

The Story

Many of you know my fetish for geeky guys/bad girl pairings, and this could be seen as the initial foray into that category. Technically, Joey was never seen as any “geek”, however, he was a literal boy scout and though being burned after Dorian dumped  him, he refused to let that change his overall Pollyanna outlook on life.  He was more on guard though and when Kelly Cramer showed up as Dorian’s bratty niece who had plenty of attitude, they were more like reluctant friends at first.  Kelly had a vision on what she wanted in life.  An older man who was sophisticated, hot and hopefully rich.  She found that in local con man David Vickers but she needed to be more experienced in “getting her secret guy”.  She talked Joey into helping her with that, and soon they were both crushing on each other.  Kelly kept screwing up and getting herself into trouble but Joey would do his best not to just help her but try to teach her about life and learn a lesson (moral compass anyone?).

The Ending

So basically the story was actually fine.  I’m not saying there wasn’t moments I cringed nor was I ever happy to see Dorian reintroduced to make a type of sick triangle, however for Joey to move on, he had to close the book on that relationship and luckily that aspect was short-lived.  My problem is that NF actually decided to leave the show and they were pretending to write Joey/Kelly off for a happy ending.   But they didn’t really do that.  Joey and Kelly did have a love scene and he was taking her to Paris but he went ahead of her but since GT was staying, they had Joey’s character write her a Dear Jane letter, which of course sent Kelly into a tailspin (literally) when she went and drove her car getting into a car crash.

In My Mind

Since GT left OLTL fairly soon, and other actors have played the characters of Joey and Kelly, it’s easy for me to pretend they did get their happy ending after all.  Joey never sent that letter and Kelly met him in Paris where they lived happily ever after.  I occasionally tune into OLTL but with all the recasts sometimes I feel like I’m watching a different show, which is probably why I never really cared to go full time with the soap no matter how much good press it gets.

Stefan/Katherine GH (Stephen Nichols/Mary Beth Evans)

Ok first, I want to make something very clear.  Anytime this couple is brought up, you will inevitably hear that the failure to make a successmbesn5 is because soaps shouldn’t attempt to repeat the same pairings on other soaps.  That is not true.  Stefan and Katherine were hot.  The problem (other then the revolving door of HWs kept changing their minds about whether to go forward) is that another soap shouldn’t attempt to COPY the story from another soap.  Especially if these new characters are established to be something completely different.  So many reasons Stefan and Katherine failed but it wasn’t because there was no chemistry.  If I dare say it, I think to some extent Stefan and Katherine were hotter than Steve and Kayla. Why?  Because the dynamic of this couple allowed for them to interact early on in ways Steve and Kayla could not.  On Days, it would be have been out of character for Kayla to even consider sleeping with Steve in the beginning and Steve had such self loathing he wouldn’t have allowed it.  Granted, once Kayla realized Steve was the one for her, she did try to move things along faster, but by then it was about love, not sex, and that was the primary difference with them on GH.  This was a perfect coupling to showcase two hot people getting it on, who have used seduction to get what they want but have never met their match…until now.  But did the show go that way?  Noooo.

The Story

It’s really difficult for me to recap this because it’s screwed up from the beginning.  Stefan meets Katherine by accidentally shooting her.  Yes, I said he shot her.  Of course she gets that soap opera amnesia where she can’t remember who the shooter was and in the typical melodramatic way, Stefan keeps visiting Katherine out of guilt.  I probably could have accepted this if they hadn’t decided to Kaylafy the woman all of a sudden.  When Katherine Bell came to town, she was all gold-digging to scheme and seduce to get her hands on any man with money.  That didn’t mean she didn’t have the capacity to love but a woman like her getting burned once was enough for her to not attempt it again.  (Which already happened with Ned).  That said, Stefan was not exactly evil incarnate himself, but close.  Cassadines are Port Charles’ version of the Dimeras, so you just know everything he does has some sinister intentions behind it.  But that drive disappeared too and while he was married to Bobbie Jones, he began having a hot affair with Katherine.  At this point I sort of lost interest, I do know at one time Alex was thwarting them by tricking Stefan into believing Katherine was his real life missing sister.  I don’t know why soaps think incest is something you should attempt to bring into a story because nothing turns me more off.  And I tuned out.

The Ending

Ultimately their story ended with Stefan doing a type of “Rebecca” trick on her and trying to remake Katherine into the image of his beloved Laura, you know, the one that got away and became infamously connected to a guy named Luke.  Once Katherine found out, she first set out, no wait.  She first fell off a balcony or something similar and was presumed dead.  She then returned from the dead and set out to seduce Stefan’s nephew who then was believed to be his son.  (And she did).  If this wasn’t enough to make you wonder if the show had a “screw the fans” policy, they even added in a good line from Stefan to Laura stating how he never believed he actually loved Katherine.  Ever.  Nice.

In My Mind

Well, let’s just say I take this whole thing and throw it away to start over.  If there was any couple perfect to do a “marriage of convenience” story, this would be it.  Katherine certainly would see the formal Stefan as stiff and someone she could easily target for that money.  Stefan would no doubt go down the inevitable “I need an heir” road and would want Katherine for that.  They decide to get married where both are believing they are screwing the other one.  What neither suspects is the sex isn’t just hot, it’s molten and Stefan’s spying on Katherine (you know he would) would allow him to see something in her he didn’t expect, vulnerability, which then allows him to show different sides to her.  Of course, you get the next estrangement coming up once they found out about what the other is doing, but then I would write them both out to live on that Cassadine island and live happily ever after.  By trying to make everyone else miserable.

Jake/Paulina AW (Tom Eplin/Judi Evans)

So, this couple, ending the way it did, taught me all about how shows can screw their fans.  It’s probably more disheartening because I was with this couple from beginning to end, never giving ujp19p.  I was always drawn to love/hate relationships and they perfectly embodied that.  He blackmailed her because of her heritage which pushed her to shoot him which pushed him to blackmail her again into marriage so she could pay him out of her trustfund.  Perfectly soap opery.  Initially, Cali Timmons  was the first Paulina, but once Judi Evans took over the role, I was 100% there.  I loved her as Adrienne on Days, but her character usually was a complete pushover and constant victim.  JE now got to play a character who could at least stand up for herself.

The Story

Jake and Paulina’s marriage was a complete con but the show did a fairly good job of figuring ways to force them into confined quarters (Rachel insisting they live in the Cory Mansion).  They had already been lovers (under CT) but Jake was never himself around her, he was conning her to get her secrets, still holding a torch for his estranged wife Marley Hudson who he did wind up raping.  Of course, redeeming rapists is nothing new on daytime, but I do think AW did a really good job of never letting us forget his past.  Years later Jake still discussed how he went to therapy sessions and how it had to come up with he dated women which I thought was a nice touch the show could have chosen not to do.  Anyway though, what he had on Paulina before the shooting, was he knew there was a possibility that she wasn’t deceased Mac Cory’s illegitimate daughter.  Of course she really was, but it was too late since now he had the goods she had shot him and was letting Marley go to prison for it.  By the time Jake awakened, Paulina had fallen in love with Senator Grant Harrison but Jake forced her to break that up.

Eventually, Paulina could no longer live a lie and by this time Jake was in love with her and didn’t want her to suffer so after she admitted the truth to ever one, he refused to press charges and took the blame to her family.  Paulina wasn’t aware how much she did care for Jake and thought she wanted the Senator back which she got, it wasn’t long before they realized they were meant for each other (as corny as that sounds).

The Ending

Jake and Paulina went on for years.  It followed a pattern for awhile, Jake would do something underhanded to upset Paulina so she would break up with him.  If it even looked like Jake was going to move on with someone else, suddenly there was Paulina jealous.  Eventually, Tom Eplin decided to leave the show.  Jake and Paulina at the time were in the middle of some dangerous jewel/diamond smuggling ring or something.  They pledged their love for each other (and meant it) but Jake had to do this ONE LAST THING of returning the diamonds before they could be together. On the way to the car, a smuggler put his gun on Jake and forced him to drive away from Bay City.  Jake purposely crashed the car and was thrown.  It engulfed in flames and Jake with amnesia walked away.  He was presumed dead as no one checked the body but everyone kept telling Paulina that he was stealing the diamonds and running away.  She didn’t believe it. Enter her next new love interest, “Joe” who was close to Jett from Days in muscles and brains.  He was a private eye who she hired to prove what she knew, that Jake wasn’t trying to leave her.  Now, I didn’t like the pairing but I figured since it was clear he was madly in love with her from the getgo, Joe would be torn upon telling her the truth about this guy she still carries a torch for, or lie and pretend he was leaving town so she could fall into his arms.

Instead, they made Joe just stupid, and he honestly believed Jake was leaving her.  They wound up in love, but shortly thereafter, Tom Eplin returned to the show.  I was ecstatic as I was sure this would end the horrific Joe/Paulina pairing but AW was never known for reuniting signature couples  (such as Cass and Katherine).  Paulina was tempted to go back to Jake, but she chose Joe and no more triangle ever.  The show closed the book forever on that and there was no discussion.  At all.

In My Mind

Sadly, I never rewrote their story.  I kept watching AW and liked Jake and Vicki enough to hope he got his happy ending there.  The soap in general was going downhill fast and Paulina might have remained on the show, but we barely saw her.  I suppose when I think of them, I concentrate on their early years and try to forget about the rest, the endless breakups, his amnesia and Joe.  But that doesn’t work too well.   There are some episodes of them on Hulu which is interesting and much further then Soapnet go.  I need to go back and watch.

So…that’s the blog I’ve been wanting to write for over a year now.  I was hoping it would help dispel my continuing disappointment that any ship I attach myself to lately (Nick/Chelsea, Nick/Melanie, Daniel/Charlotte on Lost) is bound for ultimate ruin.  I still like Hodges and Wendy on CSI, and since Dena isn’t writing them there is hope.  But they also wrote Grissom/Sara, and the contempt I hold for Dena, I doubt even she’s THAT sick.

25 thoughts on “In My Mind…

  1. I remember Jake/Paulina and Stefan/Katherine, though I was only a part time viewer of both shows and can’t comment too heavily. I knew Stefan/Katherine were written terribly, changing Katherine was foolish. And Joe sucked. Hard.

    I know your ships often go down and hard. Just remember, Sylar KILLED Elle. hehe I still have you beat, even though you take them to heart more than I do.

  2. I forgot to mention Sylar and Ellie in that last paragraph. I liked them too. And so thus I believe it’s still upon me they failed, because I liked them! I’m cursed!

  3. That was certainly worth the wait. I can’t really comment on any of them since I wasn’t watching the shows at the time and I’m only vaguely familiar with OLTL and GH today. But I do think that doomed couples are something we all have in common. Though I’m not going to even try and compete with you two.

    Besides, I love misery so it suits me just fine.

  4. So you’re saying I can blame you for Selle? Cause I will! No, I blame Heroes writers for not being smart enough to just have her leave (pregnant) and then return whenever KB’s schedule worked out. Morons.

    I don’t usually ship, only Logan and Veronica and Sylar/Elle really got to me TV wise. Hmmm…I wonder what those two pairings say about me. Probably nothing good.

  5. I thought NF had fangirls — hard to believe there isn’t more. 😀

    The only one I can comment on is (unsurprisingly) Stefan/Katherine, and only what I’ve seen in edits. I love the marriage of convenience idea, but what makes it tough for me is that Stefan was just coming out of a similar relationship with Bobbie. They would have had to have been planning for S/K a lot earlier to make it all work. I actually did like the tension from the incest question, although it reminded me too much of the Jack story in some ways. But in the end, it was more about building Stefan and Alexis’ relationship than Stefan and Katherine’s.

    Overall, I don’t mind that Stefan and Katherine were doomed. Stefan strikes me ultimately as a tragic character who is not supposed to get what he thinks he wants, or even what he doesn’t know he wants. It was the way it was done that I didn’t like — the Kaylafication of Katherine that you mentioned, the tepidness of the gothic stuff. I hated the way that Stefan let Kat’s “ghost” talk him out of his guilt after her first “death,” especially when it turns out that it’s really his own subconscious that is going so soft on him. He should never have forgiven himself, even if he wasn’t in twu luv with her at that point, or maybe even more so because of that. At least not until the moment she walked into the courtroom — and then he shouldn’t have been able to forgive her, either. That’s what a real brooding gothic hero would do.

  6. I know nothing of Logan and Veronica so I’m afraid I can’t tell what’s wrong with shipping them. Shipping Sylar/Elle has numerous problemns I suppose, but they were so much fun.

    Lska, my initial thoughts for Stefan and Katherine would mean NO Bobbie marriage at all which I hated anyway so that fulfilled two purposes (heh). Since I only watched GH occasionally leading up to it, I have no problems with rewriting it that early on. Probably the only thing I would keep is Ned jilting Katherine for Lois which I think would work to help convince her love is a risk she isn’t willing to take adn will stick to “safe” choices and believing that Stefan is a “safe” choice will be her mistake.

  7. Logan and Veronica! If I go to youtube and watch the Epic claim I blame you! They were both damaged and they both kept hurting each other and then they paired Veronica with the most boring character in Veronica Mars history. Sigh. But Logan and Veronica? Good times. And certainly easy to believe that their story was epic… and is still going on, somewhere. Good stuff.

    Paulina and Joe were so terribly boring. I’d watched AW long before Jake and Paulina so the Jake and Vicky ending never bothered me because I’d shipped them since Heche’s Vicky.

    So I was satisfied with that ending.

    However, Jake and Paulina were way way way more fun.

    And Joe… the dullness. I mean seriously, the dullness.

  8. I remember JE had actually ballooned up pretty good when she was back burnered. I wonder if that had anything to do with it?

    I could live with Jake/Vicky, but I always loved Ryan and Vicky together too and I knew there was no way Jake could eclipse Ryan in Vicky’s eyes. ANd again, the idea that anyone would choose “Joe” over “Jake” was absurd.

  9. “I know nothing of Logan and Veronica so I’m afraid I can’t tell what’s wrong with shipping them. Shipping Sylar/Elle has numerous problemns I suppose, but they were so much fun.”

    Brandy touched on it but I felt the need to clarify, nothing was really WRONG with shipping LoVe, there were many who did. But Logan summed it up best in the Epic Speech that Brandy referenced. Season 2, episode, 20 or thereabouts, the alterna-prom party Logan threw in his suite at the Neptune Grande. He got a little drunk and told Veronica that she’d broken his heart and he thought their love was epic, the love that spanned continents and spilled blood and….well you get the idea. It was a good enough speech to scare her off and then bring her back in the morning. They had the back and forth thing going on over all 3 seasons and he loved her to distraction while she held him away to protect her heart. I highly recommend them to any who have not partaken!

    Ryan/Vicky…the wedding in heaven. I’m such a sap…I did love those two together myself even though he was soooo squeaky clean. But she wasn’t so it balanced out!

  10. I loved Jake and Paulina! But then I kind of bought Vicky and Jake at the end too. What can I say? JB was my favorite Vicky and I bought whatever she was selling.

  11. Aw, isn’t it horrible when your favorite couples get screwed?

    I can only think of two instances, other than Chick, where I really felt the show screwed me over. Steve and Britta of course … hee, just kidding. It’s hard to admit now, but I really did like Pete and Melissa, and I felt Days threw Pete under the bus (for Lars! Lars!). And I was devastated when Tony and Renee turned out to be brother and sister, but in the end Tony and Anna were pretty great, so in retrospect I don’t hold a grudge.

  12. JB was my favorite Vicky and too and she usually sparked with whatever leading man they gave her.

    Hee on Steve and Britta. I remember, Mary, your response to Pete and Melissa and having him thrown under the bus for Lars is a bitter pill to swallow indeed.

  13. Regarding Stefan and Katherine:

    Stefan and Katherine were never a “copy” of Steve and Kayla. The characters and the story were the exact opposite of Steve and Kayla, in every way. The only resemblance was the fact that the same actors played both couples. The problem ALWAYS was the terrible writing and the many headwriters with different ideas on which direction to take/not to take those characters individually.
    I agree with you the actors and the characters has MAJOR chemistry. IMO the problem came down to Guza in the end: Guza’s hatred of strong/independent/complex women (any such woman would either go crazy or turn out to be evil incarnate), as well as Guza’s A.D.D. and his inability to write for anyone other than Luke, Jason and Sonny at the time.

    I also disagree that Stefan and Kat were hotter than Steve and Kayla on Days because, as you stated “On Days, it would be have been out of character for Kayla to even consider sleeping with Steve in the beginning”. I think Kayla had hotter dreams than Katherine did in the beginning! She often fantasized about Steve once she figured out that there was a heart underneath the thug-like exterior and attitude. The dreams/fantasies didn’t always include “sex” …as we saw them, but you could tell what was on Kayla’s mind. Now Katherine had some dreams about Stefan, but I don’t think they were hotter than Kayla’s dreams, not in the least. And while Katherine and Stefan “got together” a lot quicker than Steve and Kayla, I don’t think it’s due to them being steamier…I think its because (a) they came at a different time/era in soap writing/pacing and (b) they were never intended to be a supercouple.

    It’s precisely because they were not a copy of Steve and Kayla that Stefan and Kat’s story/relationship progressed differently. Just my opinion.

  14. Welcome Belle! I agree with what you said and certainly about Guza! I do see Stefan and Katherine as totally seperate from Steve and Kayla. They could have been something great but of course, the show didn’t see it that way.

  15. Wow, what a fascinating, well-written blog entry!! Now, I didn’t watch any of these couples (though I have a very very surface familiarity with Stefan/Katherine), but I’d like to comment on two general themes you’re discussing. First, the idea that you mention in the Jake/Paulina section, that Paulina chose someone other than Jake, and that was it. To me, this is a particularly hurtful way to end a couple, because what it does is essentially pulls the rug out from under any enjoyment that the viewers have had of the couple over the years when the couple were together. The writers are saying to the viewers, ‘You know how you thought your couple was destined for each other? You know all those scenes where the characters had such a connection? Well, you were wrong! They aren’t destined for each other!” Kill a couple off together, make one paralyzed (ahem), but keep them together at least – especially after a longterm history.

    As for Stefan and Katherine, my opinion is that writers are often afraid to rely and put all their money on the chemistry of actors to carry a story. This imo is a huge mistake; chemistry between two people (platonic or romantic) is just one of those things that you can’t manufacture. It’s either there, or it isn’t, and with some sets of actors, it’s there in spades. SN and MBE are two of these people. But the problem is that the writers are so afraid to rely on this chemistry that they think they need to incorporate elements of the actors’ previous characters to help recreate the magic that was there before. From reading your description, it seems to me that this is exactly what happened with Stefan and Katherine.

    Interestingly, as I think we all discussed once on MP’s blog, SN did play a different character in a sense when S&K first came back, and despite the horrific writing (Billie), the chemistry between SN and MBE was still palpable. This happened imo this year with J&M as well… John was an entirely different character, yet Drake and Deidre had the same strong chemistry they always have. Even further than this, I think giving the actors new characters to play can strengthen the chemistry between them, because the actors can’t rely on their characters’ usual mannerisms to convey their feelings for the other actor. They have to reach further in themselves to find a new way to connect with the other person, and that all derives from the natural chemistry between the two.

    Sorry for such a long reply – thanks again for such an interesting blog!!

  16. Nole, I hope that you meant to say you recommend only the first two seasons of Veronica Mars to anyone who is interested in LoVe. Because unless someone is willing to clip LoVe scenes only, I’m not touching the third season with a man-length pole. 😀

    This is turning out to be a great discussion. I’m just sorry I can’t comment more.

  17. Hee, yes great discussion, though hilariously part of it is on a couple who wasn’t in the original blog. But that’s ok.

    Ellie, thanks for the post, it can be long anytime. And I think you make good points on what happened with Stefan and Katherine. As for Jake and Paulina, it looked like we were gearing up for a long triangle, which I wasn’t exactly looking forward to (I hated them back then as I do now) but then it suddenly ended. Fast. Jake tried to trick Paulina by making her jealous and that was enough for her to see Joe was “the one” because he would never resort to tricks nor would she have to worry about him doing anything underhanded because he was a straight shooter (dull).

    I did leave out one part, when Jake returned, he still had amnesia and he had been having visions of a blond woman (obviously Paulina). However, he and Vicky were great friends and grew up together in their home town. He happened upon there visiting and when she recognized him and was glad to see him, he presumed she was the blond woman and put this extraordinary hot kiss on her. THAT might have been what led to break J&P up, since Ryan was either already gone or probably leaving and they could leave Paulina with Joe. I guess. I don’t know. Every idea I consider always involves Joe as some sort of romantic equal and it astounds me they thought he was a popular character.

  18. Ellie, it’s interesting to read your comment, because I’ve kind of settled into the opposite view. It seemed like the writers were relying almost too much on SN and MBE’s chemistry to carry the story, and they failed to back that up with strong/consistent writing. More and more, I think the idea of chemistry is difficult to separate from the characters and the story that establishes them as a couple.

    I agree that some actors are never going to click together. And I think the actors in a successful pairing will probably be able to show some kind of connection on screen in different roles (or like the examples of RoboJohn/Marlena and NickNotSteve/Kayla). SN and MBE were definitely able to pull off some scorching scenes on GH, but I never felt that they were able to show the characters’ connection as strongly as with Steve and Kayla, because the writers could never figure out exactly what that connection was supposed to look like.

  19. Another good point lska. And it’s funny as some actors usually always click together (in spite of what RM said), there are some that never do.

  20. That’s very interesting lska… I see what you mean. Hmmm. I guess what we’re both saying is, the writing for the new characters is flawed in that the writers are afraid to take risks and depart from what worked before. This can either come in the form of relying too much on the previous characters (my view) or relying too much on the actors’ chemistry (your view). I think where our opinions intersect is that the ‘magic’ of such a pairing could be recreated, but both the strong chemistry (which will likely be there) AND strong writing (which may or may not be there) is necessary. If one or the other is missing or underplayed, then the new show/pairing doesn’t really stand a chance of doing as well as the former show/pairing did.

    ps – Wasn’t there some show after the Cosby Show with Bill Cosby and Phylicia Rashad? I never watched that, but I remember reading it didn’t do well, and I’m wondering which of these issues they had. Or it could have just been a poorly-done show altogether, lol.

  21. Ellie, good point on BC and PR. I watched a little of their 2nd series and it seemed ok. Personally I think The Cosby Show went from great to average to terrible within 5 years, so I was never interested in watching a second series. The weird thing is I liked BC and PR the most when they were interacting with each other.

  22. First time commenter, but I can’t resist another Nathan Filion fan. OLTL was where I first fell in love with him, though I had actually forgotten Kelly until I read your blog. But their story was so fun. I remember him doing some kind of John Travolta Saturday Night Fever ripoff that was funny.

    I also have to put in a plug for Vicki and Ryan. For me, the ultimate Vicki was Anne Heche. I loved the combination of bravado and neediness she conveyed. And I loved how Ryan managed to see past her difficult behavior and love her anyway. I still liked them after Anne left, but it was never the same.

  23. Yay, a Joey/Kelly fan. They are always welcome here. lol

    I loved Vicki and Ryan together, with both VH and JB. I was a fan of JB actually on OLTL so I was pleased when she took over the role though surprised she was better at Vicki then Marley.

  24. Logan and Veronica were the best tv couple for me. The actors had a combustible chemistry, i didn’t see that before at least on a tv network.

Leave a Reply

