Losting in a New World

So I totally absolutely completely and sincerely apologize for NOT blogging about Lost yet.  There is no excuse.  I have none.  I sat down now to actually compose a blog about Survivor which I can come up with half a dozen subjects to discuss for the 2 episodes we’ve seen.  Then I realized how long it’s been since I spoke about Lost and I felt bad.

There are so many things I could say, but I want to see where this is going...

Please understand, this does not mean that I am not enjoying Lost, quite the contrary.  It’s amazing how the writers can actually take the story into directions I had never imagined in ways that keep my attention.  The problem is…it’s easier to talk about Survivor because it’s an all star season, and the show is chock full of moments to discuss, pick on, laugh at, rejoice in, and worry about.  It’s all straight forward.  I know what to think of Survivor. I don’t know what to think of Lost.

I know we have two universes being the result of the nuclear bomb.  I know that the explosion triggered what would become the death of the island (something I’m not sure happened immediately since we know Ben is alive and well off the island).  The island’s presence gone was something we had suspected and that Flight 815 would land safely in LA.  What I didn’t expect was how much the island interfered with people’s lives before they came to the island.  I had never thought of that.  I knew Richard had visited young Locke and Jacob had made sure to say hello to everyone to specific people as well.  The island of course was the heart of the Dharma Initiative which transported many souls there, employing hundreds of people on whatever the heck they were working on (which still isn’t clear).  It became the magnate to draw Desmond there and Penny’s father, Charles, is probably not the same man he eventually became.

I just don’t know what to say yet.  I refuse to speculate.  I’m always wrong.  Far from wrong.  Wrong wrong wrong wrong.  I am tired of being wrong.  We are dealing in time travel, universe paradox, balance between good and evil as well as minor supernatural elements such as Miles’ ghost talking and Hurley may have it too.  How can I possibly know where this is all going? How can I even venture a guess?  No, I learned my lesson from Harry Potter where I attempted to imagine how Rowling would write the final book and I couldn’t have been more wrong.  The good news in that is I was completely satisfied with her ending.  It’s rare when that happens, most of the time I’m always disappointed.  So far the writers have been keeping me entertained and still guessing.

I’m going to just take the attitude to sit back and relax.  So far we’ve learned that the bomb going off didn’t reset the story but simply created a possible tangent to the story.  We’ve learned the meaning of the numbers which have assignments to certain characters.  We’ve learned a bit more of the NotLocke character as well as meeting a whole new group of others.  Some things I’ve been happy about (the numbers), pleasantly entertained by (the NotLocke) or irritated to their presence (the others in the temple).  But even the latter certainly is entertaining to watch if it’s only in my desire to hope they are wrong (about Sayid).

The season is still young, we’ve got more new episodes ahead of us than behind us so I’m hoping Lost winds up not living up to it’s name, but it’s reputation.

3 thoughts on “Losting in a New World

  1. Pretty much sums it up, doesn’t it? No idea what they’re master plan is but I like the new revelations every week. Saw Michael Emerson’s appearance on Kimmel and he said Ben had awesome stuff coming up and you know that is enough to keep me happy 🙂

  2. Yes, I do imagine that will keep you happy. Hopefully that means Ben hasn’t become some socially awkward, bookworm professor type (though I guess islandBen was never much of a people person either).

    I forgot to say, it just doesn’t feel like the end of the run does it? I keep thinking this is just a standard season but we’ve got to going somewhere at some point right?

  3. You have that right. It doesn’t feel like we’re building up to an end and I don’t want it. I’m glad I’ve held off on purchasing the DVD’s because I imagine they’ll have an epically awesome collector’s edition when it’s all said and done. And it needs to feature Ben, heavily. hehe

    ME was awesome on Kimmel and this is a spoiler but it’s not a huge one, Ben was still alive up to the last 4 episodes of the season! YAY 🙂

Leave a Reply

